Skip to content Skip to footer

History of Dali

Dali has a long history of civilization.

As early as 4,000 years ago, the ancestors of the Bai and Yi nationalities lived and multiplied in this areas.

In 109 B.C. during the Yuanfeng era of the Western Han Dynasty, under the jurisdiction of Yizhoujun Prefecture, Yeyu County was established. Starting from the 2nd year of the Yongping era (AD. 69) of the Eastern Han Dynasty, Yeyu County was switched to Yongchangjun Prefecture and again to Yunnanjun Prefecture during the time of Shu Kingdom of the Three Kingdoms.

Supported by the Tang royal court in the 26th year of the Kaiyuan era (738), chieftain Piloge of Nanzhao (otherwise known as Mengshe Zhao) unified the 6 Zhaos and established Nanzhao Kingdom. In 937, Duan Siping, the “Jiedushi” (military satrap) of Tonghai united with the other 37 tribes in East Yunnan, marched to Dali and set up Dali Kingdom consequently.

In the long process of 500 years, Dali had always been the capital of Nanzhao Kingdom and Dali Kingdom. In 1253, Kublai Khan led his men on an expedition to the south, conquered Dali Kingdom, and made Yunnan province of the Yuan empire. The Nanzhao capital Daili was renamed Dalilu (Dali City). In 1381, Emperor Zhu Yuanzhang who inaugurated the Ming Dynasty changed Dalilu into Dalifu (Taihe County). The Qing Dynasty followed the Ming Dynasty without any change. In the 2nd year of the Republic of China, Taihe County was again changed into Dali County.