Jianshui Confucius Temple
The Jianshui Confucius Temple was first built in A.D.1285. Then it was repaired and expanded for several times. It covers an area of 114 Mu now. The Jianshui Confucius Temple is the second largest Confucius temple, only next to the Qufu Confucius temple in Shandong Province. Entering the gate of the temple, travelers will see a large pool at first. It covers an area of more than 20 Mu. Green water undulates in the pool. Weeping willows are around it. It's called "Xue Hai".
There are a main hall, a pavilion, a tower, two side-halls, two halls, three clan halls and eight memorial archways in the Confucius Temple. The Dacheng Hall is the most splendid. The 22 doors of the main hall are carefully engraved nearly one hundred patterns of birds and beasts on. These patterns are in various forms. They are vivid.
A stele with three gilded words" Xian Shi Miao" is hung in the front of the main hall. Every word is 1 meter long and 1.5 meters wide. The writing style is vigorous. A tall copper censer stands in front of the hall. There are many small and big dragons carved in it. They are all lifelike. A pair of stone elephants lies under the ancient cypress in the yard.
There is a 5-Chi (a unit of length)-high bronze vase at the back of each elephant. In the temple there is a lofty old tree. Two people can encircle it. It's flourishing. Carefully watch and people can find that they are two symbiotic trees in fact. One is a banyan. The other is a cypress. The former tightly wraps the latter up. They completely have the same root and grow together. The local people call the unique picture ''Marshal Wan embracing Miss Bai'' playfully. It is said that they were planted in the Yuan Dynasty. They have had a history of 600-700 years.